Puella Magi Madoka Magica vs Genei wo Kakeru Taiyou

Hi guys! Sorry that I magically (pun intended for this post) disappeared for a few weeks, I’ve started my volunteer work at a local art gallery and finishing off my summer course. I only have one week of vacation for myself to catch up on gaming, anime, and art…lol.

Speaking of anime, I’ve been hooked onto a magical girl series known as Genei wo Kakeru Taiyou (Day Break Illusion) a few weeks ago and I fell in love with it. *_* I like all four of the main girls but I like Seira the most, her design and kuudere personality along with her icy archery skills is just sefhoieafshoiefsoia.

Alas, it’s also a dark magical girl anime series. I personally find it to be darker than Puella Magi Madoka Magica (which I’ve just finished like a week ago for once).

Here’s one thing that’s been bothering me: people keep saying Taiyou is a rip off of Magica.

Can I just point out the fact that Puella Magi Madoka Magica ISN’T the first dark magical girl anime out there? Have you people forgotten how dark Princess Tutu, Mai-HiME (okay not really a magical girl anime), and even the classic Devil Hunter Yohko are and those fall under the category of magical girl and dark/horror themed? They were all existing BEFORE Magica was even released. A dark magical girl anime is a THEME, NOT an idea! There are so many animes that have overlapping themes like romance and comedy, this really shouldn’t even be an exception; it’s just uncommon.

The main difference between Magica and Taiyou is that Magica is played on more of a psychological side where it plays on wishes and the word “magical girl” with Kyuubey being their mascot while Taiyou doesn’t. Taiyou doesn’t have an adorable but evil mascot and the girls power up from tarot cards which is something not seen very often (except for Cardcaptor Sakura). The only similarity that I find in these two is their battles take place in a different dimension but Taiyou’s battle actions actually reflect upon the real world (E.g. Someone drops a rock from the sky in the dimension, the rock also drops in the real world).

One thought on “Puella Magi Madoka Magica vs Genei wo Kakeru Taiyou

  1. i agree! just because an anime has a similar storyline to another doesnt mean its bad! I was upset that madoka was over and finding a similar anime was nice. it annoys me when people complain about “copying” . if you dont like it then just dont watch it!

Leave a Reply

